What are the twelve cranial nerves and functions?


CN I Olfactory -->  provides a sense of smell to the nose

CN II Optic -->  gives vision to the eyes

CN III Oculomotor  --> extraocular eye movement (moves eye medially), constricts the pupil, and lens accommodation

CN IV Trochlear  -->  extraocular eye movement; moves the eye upward and out

CN V Trigeminal  -->  V1 sensory to ophthalmic region of the face; V2 sensory to the maxillary region of face; V3 motor to the mandible/mastication

CN VI  Abducens  --> extraocular eye movement; moves eye laterally

CN VII  Facial  -->  motor to muscles of face; gives face facial expression; taste to anterior 2/3 of tongue; salivation and lacrimation (tearing)

CN VIII  Vestibulocochlear  -->  provides hearing to the ear and balance

CN IX  Glossopharyngeal  --> functions to swallow and parasympathetic to parotid salivary glands; taste to posterior 1/3 of tongue

CN X  Vagus  -->  Parasympathetic fibers to heart, lungs, stomach, liver, kidneys, spleen, small intestine, and colon; motor to swallowing, speech, and coughing

CN XI  Accessory  -->  motor to sternocleidomastoid and trapezius;  allow you to shrug shoulders and turn head/neck

CN XII  Hypoglossal  -->  motor to the tongue; chewing, speech, swallowing, or mastication

  • Last Updated Nov 16, 2023
  • Views 1
  • Answered By Tamiko Kemp

FAQ Actions

Was this helpful? 0 0