How does the conduction system flow through the heart?

The cardiac conduction system consists of the following components:  the sinoatrial node, or SA node, located in the right atrium near the entrance of the superior vena cava.  This is the natural pacemaker of the heart.  It initiates all heartbeat and determines heart rate.  Electrical impulses from the SA node spread throughout both atria and stimulate them to contract.  The atrioventricular node, or AV node, located on the other side of the right atrium, near the AV valve.  The AV node serves as the electrical gateway to the ventricles.  It delays the passage of electrical impulses to the ventricles.  This delay is to ensure that the atria have ejected all the blood into the ventricles before the ventricles contract.  The AV node receives signals from the SA node and passes them onto the atrioventricular bundle--AV bundle or bundle of His.  This bundle is divided into right and left bundle branches which conduct the impulses toward the apex of the heart.  The signals are then passed onto Purkinje fibers, turning upward and spreading throughout the ventricular myocardium.  


  • Last Updated Oct 25, 2023
  • Views 8
  • Answered By Tamiko Kemp

FAQ Actions

Was this helpful? 0 0